ARC: Misbehavyour language!

Book: Misbehavior
Author: Kathryn Kelly
Series: Death Dwellers MC, #3
Genre: contemporary Erotic Romance.
Rating:pT5ERrATBpT5ERrATB
Blurb: 

“Matthew “Val” Taylor, the Road Captain in the club, was introduced to sex at an early age. Saved from the streets by the club’s Enforcer and President years ago, Val now lives for women and the open road. Until the night the only woman he’s ever loved is almost killed. Val determines to change his ways and be the man Zoann Donovan should have and the father their son deserves.
Zoann has loved Val for a long time. Violence and bitter betrayal forces her to ignore her feelings and distance herself not only from the sexy RC, but her beloved brother, too. Until she discovers the truth. Can Zoann ever be forgiven for all the pain she’s caused? Will Val overcome his own demons and have a future with her and their son? Who will survive in an MC filled with lust and revenge, love and hate?

Warning: This is a tale of rape, murders, deception, heartache, lies, and infidelity. The road to redemption is a tumultuous struggle where only the strong survive and justice is served…Outlaw-style. “



Great freaking blurb right?
I was like”okay, this is going to be intense!” and in some ways it way. Buuuut it’s kind of a tall blurb for a basic story.

I really, really struggled with this novel. I picked it up and the blurb was really good, the preface was really good and then I got the prologue and was like ????
I could barely understand the language.
I’ll cut the author some slack here only because I am not a biker and I am no gangster, I am in all consideration quite straight and narrow. But these guys make swear words the bread and butter of the sentence. For the life of me I didn’t understand. I had to do a lot of re-reading and interpreting to get the hang of it, but hey, if you speak biker already you’ll be right at home!
However, I did get used to the language and now speak fluent biker.
Yay! I’ll put it on my resume, shall I?

I had no idea this book was part of a series when I got it. I picked it up from the ARC group on Goodreads- liked the blurb, asked for a copy, end of story. So I was really surprised to find out not two minutes ago that this was the third book in the collection. This may or may not be why some things didn’t make sense or why some relationships were never explained.
The later was a big concern of mine. We had a 10 year time jump in this book and a lot went unexplained. I now know that these relationships have their own book! Who knew!?
Tale of the story? Do an internet search on the book/start from the start of a series!
So I am going to take a leap of faith and say that this book was kinda lacking information only because I didn’t read the books prior. Here is to hoping?

When I got this copy I wasn’t told whether or not it was the final draft or if it still needed edits done. However I will review it based on what I received, and I received a manuscript that need a lot of editing. As I said, some sentences were just incorrect, there was spelling errors and some grammar errors. It was a bit all over the place and I personally would not have wanted to publish the copy I received.
Pretty much if you’re a knit picker, this book will probably drive you nuts!

I found the setting that was created very interesting, only because I hadn’t read anything like it, however the storyline itself was a bit wishy-washy. I forced myself to read until 10% before I could give up, thankfully it started to pick up around 9% and I decided to plough through. It really lulled in the middle of the book though and the character were having the same arguments over and over and over and over and over and over again and they always resulted in the same outcome (until the very end). Again, thankfully it picked at towards the end of the novel.
I also found that all the character were kind of just the same, but with a different appearance. They were solid and interesting characters but everyone had the same issues only varying slightly and everyone dealt with their issues the same way- which was to not do anything and just ‘get over it’ or ‘deal with it’ which none of them did. At first I was like fair enough, kind of make sense in their world, but it was really grating after the first 200 pages and unbearable by the next. I found it left no room for character development for the majority of the book. The characters only changed when they were threatened with the loss of the other, but their change wasn’t a fundamental change. They stayed exactly the same, they just decided to admit their feelings, which we already knew and the character already kind of knew, so it wasn’t exciting or in any way entertaining.

As far as an erotica romance novel goes, it didn’t make me excited or swoon or sexually aroused. I was far from being in love with the character and I didn’t even care whether the character felling in love or found someone completely different. The sex wasn’t anything to write home about and the erotic side of the romance was about at vanilla as you get. So with my experience with erotica romance novel, I would have to say it fell very far short.

Overall I felt it was poorly written and didn’t offer much to the reader. The character and setting while interesting was let down by a mediocre and repetitive story line.
It would have helped reading the first two novels before hand and probably would have explained the holes in the story line, however if they are anything like this book I wont be bothering.
But…. Hurray for learning to talk like a biker though, right!?
It’s the small things that count guys.

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

Colorful-Sky

Leave a Reply

