Minutes Before Sunset

Book: Minutes Before Sunset
Author: Shannon A. Thompson
Series: The Timely Death , #1
Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance
Rating: pT5ERrATBpT5ERrATBpT5ERrATBpT5ERrATB

Blurb:

“Eric Welborn isn’t completely human, but he isn’t the only shade in the small Midwest town of Hayworth. With one year left before his eighteenth birthday, Eric is destined to win a long-raging war for his kind. But then she happens. In the middle of the night, Eric meets a nameless shade, and she’s powerful—too powerful—and his beliefs are altered. The Dark has lied to him, and he’s determined to figure out exactly what lies were told, even if the secrets protect his survival.

Jessica Taylor moves to Hayworth, and her only goal is to find more information on her deceased biological family. Her adoptive parents agree to help on one condition: perfect grades. And Jessica is distraught when she’s assigned as Eric’s class partner. He won’t help, let alone talk to her, but she’s determined to change him—even if it means revealing everything he’s strived to hide.”

..Review It..

This was a book I slowly fell in love with. When I first picked it up, I wasn’t instantly hooked on it but as the pages ticked by I realized I was falling further and further in love with the story and characters. Until it became one of those books that you think, ‘okay, just a few more pages before work…….’. Then you look up at the clock and realize your already supposed to be at work and your still in your jammies… reading the book…
~Oops~
It’s one of those books.

The characters didn’t instantly draw me into them. It took me a while to get their personalities and see where they were coming from. But once you get there, you see the creativeness and individuality of both Eric and Jessica.
The story is split into Erics POV and Jessicas POV and was very easy to follow. If you struggle with this format- don’t stress- the character names are at the top of every chapter which makes it very user-friendly.
…..If you are having issues, seriously just read the chapter names.

The plot line was very enjoyable. I especially liked the end which set up the next book [Seconds Before Sunrise] perfectly and I am very intrigued by the direction it is taking.
It was a bit of a mash-up story in some ways, as it had similar character and plot themes as some other big stories in the fantasy/paranormal/romance genres. Ie. Harry Potter, Twilight, Imdalind, Lux.
I thought there was a good level of suspense to the plot, I never quite knew what direction the story was going to go in [apart from the obvious blossoming romance.]. I really enjoyed the fact that it kept me guessing and took me in some unexpected directions.

There were something I would have like to have learnt more about which I think would have enhanced the story and characters more. A felt there was a lot of background information left out. Especially in regards to ‘the shades and the lights’.
I also thought seeing some comparisons between Eric and other shade his age would have given us some context to the extent of his power. He came across fairly weak for someone who needs to save the world. It also would have helped us understand Jessica powers and how significant they were. I felt we were told a little too much, and not ever shown.

I really liked watching the characters together. Their dynamic was really interesting. But I did feel that they kind of fell in love rather awkwardly. One second they were friends and then they kind of weren’t, and suddenly they can’t live without each other?
I would have like to watch them fall in love and really have experienced the moments of affection more.

One thing I was really unclear on and am still uncertain of is, if finding out that Jessica was Eric’s mystery shade is supposed to be a plot twist. I presumed from the moment we met the illusive shade that, that was Jessica. But when Eric realized it was her, I wondered if it was supposed to be a revolutionary moment for the reader as well as the character? If so, then I think it needed to be more subtle. If not, then I didn’t really feel the drama behind Eric’s revelation. Wouldn’t you be slightly freaked if you suddenly found out you were in love with your science partner and you didn’t even realize?

Something that doesn’t often get kudos on book reviews are the secondary characters! In this book the secondary characters were just as good as the mains. I really loved watching their interplay and I have a sneaky suspicion we will be seeing much more of them in the next book.
But.. I’ll have to read and see!!

I feel like I have said some critical things about this book, but I honestly really, really, loved, loved, loved this read. It’s a solid 4**** book from me and I would recommend it to those of you who love these genres of books.
It fast pace, full of action and entertainment. I read it super fast as it was very hard to put down.
Strongly suggest adding this to your TBR list.

I would also love to say a big warm thank you to the lovely Shannon A. Thompson for giving me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
If you want to get to know more about this wonderfully talented author, I’ll be publishing an interview with her tomorrow!
Hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I did writing it.
& don’t forget to hit follow/subscribe if you want to be notified about tomorrows interview.
YAY!

Colorful-Sky

4 thoughts on “Minutes Before Sunset

  1. Pingback: My Love Story: Poetry Edition | Shannon A Thompson

  2. Pingback: Author Interview: Shannon A. Thompson | Bonnie Brown's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: September Ketchup | Shannon A Thompson

Leave a Reply

