Into the Still Blue and I am Still Blue

Book: Into the Still Blue
Author: Veronica Rossi
Series: Under the Never Sky, #3
Genre: YA, Dystopia, Adventure
Rating: pT5ERrATBpT5ERrATBpT5ERrATB

If you have been keeping track of my blog, you’ll know I’ve been reading ‘Under the Never Sky’ series in the last few weeks. Note: I am so sorry I haven’t been blogging at my usual brisk pace, butt… I struggled to read the last book in the series and it took me like two weeks. It’s only 400 pages- so I am fairly shattered that it just took me forever. But I was kind of disappointed/really busy, and I lost the flow of the book because I was only reading a little bit at a time/listening to a different audio book at the same time. So all in all I was really distracted whilst reading this book, which might be the reason I didn’t really connect with this book. However, it might just have been not so great which is also why I let myself be distracted… hmm…

As you know I really loved the first book so so much, and whilst the 2nd wasn’t as great it was a really strong book, but for me I just didn’t enjoy the last book.
Looking back at the whole series, and seeing the structure of events, I think maybe it was a bit too spread out which made it emotionally lame. There were a lot of events that probably didn’t need to happen or weren’t relevant, and also took up a lot of page time.

I also found I didn’t connect with the characters as much in this book which lead to emotional detachment during critical moments in this book. I think the author didn’t give us enough drama and emotion. Certainly I felt a lack of suspense especially when the characters were trying to reach the still blue.

The general writing was fine, but again I felt that sometimes it was just telling the story, rather than living the story, if that makes sense? I wanted something more from it… the cant-put-this-book-down feel that the first book had.

At the end of the day, I felt this book was holding back on me, and I was glad to finish it.

[PS. I’m stuck on books to read… any book suggestions for any fantastic YA/NA books?]

Love more | Read more

Leave a Reply

